Becoming an English Parent

I wouldn’t say that my maternal instinct was any more honed than most and so my decision to give up a flourishing career in corporate finance and become a stay at home mother came as somewhat as a surprise to me. I’m making it sound easy and natural, of which it was neither.  Twelve years later it is still neither easier nor more natural with the maternal instinct intact albeit worn and slighlty  tattered.

So where’s the news in this? Happens all the time.

I’m doing it in a foreign country and in a foreign language. Admittedly Italy is in the EU (although I have a very dear friend who, in the late ’80s, delighted in calling it the leader of the third world….) so who would have thought that the union of two old world continent cultures would have been such a minefield.

As a young, up and coming couple in the early 90’s  cultural differences added spice to our relationship. As parents these differences have seen the erection  of many an iron curtain but also plenty of glasnost too.

Hence the English Parent.

The list is long and starts with where baby sleeps once brought home from hospital, breastfeeding, mother in laws, solids, bedtime stories, controlled crying, going out in the rain, a bicycle seat……..that is just the first few months. The list isn’t just long it is still a work in progress , my pre-teen adds a new page to it every week.

Reading the list makes me laugh out loud at my neo-mother ingenuity, cry with frustration at my stupidity and chuckle over the little battles won in favour of The Wind in the Willows and going out in wellies for puddle jumping.

I’m sure that some of you will recognise yourselves.

About The English Parent

trying to write the manual on 'how to be a foreign parent in a foreign land' but the task is arduous and painstakingly slow!
This entry was posted in The English Parent. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Becoming an English Parent

  1. antonella says:

    GOSH!!!! I must keep dust off from my dictionary to understand the whole blog!!! It should be a good exercise to improve my rusty English. I really appreciate your talent for writing. I express my self otherwise…..but I’m curoius to learn how to write a blog. I think it could help me to relieve my feelings….it’s not a good moment ..MA LO SCRIVO IN ITALIANO!!! 😉

  2. janet says:

    I don’t think I can compete with the dazzling warmth and wit of Mr WordPress, so I’m not going to try. Amanda, this is so tantalizing–from corporate to parenthood in Italian no less! My dear friend, the Thai full-time father in Ivrea, a man who is also known as Papi, would love this blog–I certainly do already. More–details, stories (controlled crying?????)

  3. kerry says:

    Hi Amanda, well done for taking this huge step…to blog, or not to blog – that is the real question. x

    • Thanks Kerry! along with Janet who is a professional writer and blogger and a person I would like to be!, your blog took me that last mile needed to push the ‘publish’ button. I bow to both of you, your courage and knowledge are so much greater than mine but now I’ve started the flood gates are open and I shall just let it all flow……

      • antonella says:

        You must stop to be insicure. you are the 21th century’s Virginia Woolf. Is this enough for your pride????? 😉

  4. Selina Drage says:

    You do not need cultural differences for the iron curtain to come down – even between sisters some of the differences of opinion in your list can arise!
    Just say there are many different paths to being the ‘perfect parent’ that we all strive so hard to be.

    One thing we can be sure of is that we will never always make the right choices. Does the “If Only You Had..” criticism of our parents ring any bells?
    We will make mistakes too.

    We can only promise Love.

    Another thought.
    We become strong in our path through life, not through the easy paths but the difficult ones.

    • I’m not trying to be a perfect parent, just hoping to survive and not ruin my son in the process.
      My tone is flippant and light because if you take anything too seriously it becomes just that! Thank god for mine and my parents mistakes, they have made me what I am today.
      As someone from Liverpool once said….The Long and Winding Road……
      Thanks for dropping in and reading.

  5. So happy you’re back! Now that you’re an English parent of an adult Italian, your material is endless!

Leave a comment