into the void

Today is one of those days when I wonder why I am doing this, or rather who I am doing this for. Couldn’t wait for the men to leave the house this morning so I could crank up the family computer and see who had been to look at my blog yesterday.

Why am I so surprised and disappointed that most people have got better things to do with their spare time? Of course they have, however, it doesn’t stop me feeling  like a school girl who has handed in her homework but the teacher hasn’t had time to mark it. So all that self conviction that I’m writing this for myself is a crock of the brown stuff!

Ah, there now I’ve gone and said it! And I feel much better.

I apologise to anyone who had the misfortune to stumble upon my little tirade, there I go again thinking that someone might actually read this!

About The English Parent

trying to write the manual on 'how to be a foreign parent in a foreign land' but the task is arduous and painstakingly slow!
This entry was posted in Things that go bump in the night. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to into the void

  1. janet says:

    If you go to statcounter.com and put it on your blog (it’s free–and easy), you’ll see how many people come to your blog and for how long they stay–although that can be depressing too. If you think of this as a writer’s notebook and a way to practice a craft and to develop ideas, that makes the lack of response easier to bear. It still sucks however–and will make you quite diligent about leaving comments on other people’s blogs when you visit them.

    • you are absolutely right, as always. I am doing it for me, I am totally aware of my wetness behind the ears, but after the first rush which felt like a long remembered toke, the down was crushing. I am hooked. Rehab here I come!!

  2. A new reader, via The Guru….
    Great looking blog – especially for a brand new one!
    You have a different story to tell, and unique memories to keep. Pace yourself for readership; it will come. You should think in terms of months (or more probably years). The most rewarding addiction is the writing, in the end, though it IS nice to be read from time to time.
    Every one encourages the blogger to ‘find your tribe’ online. I have all the same issues!
    Keep up the good work! I’ll be back…

Leave a comment